Poem to Call Love In

When you show up, I’ll say –
Hey, let’s give this a go.
You’re gentle and feel warm –
we can be silent
and we can crack jokes.
If this sounds good to you,
I’ll be your beggar queen –
my cheap metal bracelets
turn pink against my skin.
I loathe glass slippers,
but you can kiss
the extra bones on my feet.
Come, my love –
we will laugh
at red unicorns inside plastic hearts.
We will hold hands
through the vampire forests
of our minds.
We will cry.
We will try.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

