De Profundis

I am not calling out of the depths –
not to you,
not to anyone.
I am not the dead,
nor am I the undead –
I am the un-living,
I am the rattle of bone,
I am the wolf choir,
and I do not call out.
Instead, I pay my respects
to the underworld inside,
no longer descending for answers,
but for the embrace of dark tendrils –
beautiful and snail-like –
they mark me with unseen patterns,
whispering
unmasked words of love
and fright and awe.
They say –
Be safe in uncertainty.
They say –
Be safe in terror.

3 Comments

Filed under poetry

3 responses to “De Profundis

  1. Anca, I know Sandy Benitez would love this for Black Poppy Review. Check out http://blackpoppyreview.blogspot.com.

    Like

Leave a Reply

