System

NOTE: At first this was intended as a poem on the ever-blasted “male gaze”, but the truth is women, too, often ask “Oh, why not wear tight tops and dresses more often?” So, this is about anyone who thinks someone else’s body is their business. As for me, the closer to my goals I get, the more I realise I have nothing to prove to anyone.

 

My body is turning into a system
balancing on one hand and the edge of a foot,
muscles and tendons stretching
so that the mind can grow.
I am not robbing you
when I wear loose clothes
and when I don’t look back at you.
You have no divine right –
you don’t know the pain it takes,
you don’t know growth.
If I prefer solitude,
it has nothing to do with you.
I am becoming a system.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

