Quick Help Needed

Hello dear followers!

I’m a finalist in an online poetry contest on Goodreads, with a poem I’ve also posted here and would greatly appreciate your vote (that is, if you believe I deserve it).

Also, if this embedded version does not work, here is the full link: http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/2183557-please-vote-for-the-february-2015-goodreads-newsletter-finalists

Poll
114673

GOODREADS FEBRUARY 2015 NEWSLETTER TOP FINALISTS’ POEMS — PLEASE SELECT ONE!

CLICK HERE TO READ THIS MONTH’S FINALISTS

* Voting is anonymous and choices are listed randomly.

Thanks, as always, to our judges, Meg Harris, Ruth Bavetta and Dan Simmons for selecting six finalists from this month’s group!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Quick Help Needed

  1. Thank you for reading my poem, Anca. I am pleased that it amused you. I find it refreshing that your poem was chosen as one of the finalists as you are not American, like most of the members of the Poetry group on Goodreads are, including the judges and nearly all the chosen finalists. It is not surprising, however, as America is a continent and not just a country.

    Like

    • Yes, it’s a bit strange for me as a non-native English speaker to be writing in English. I’m sure this makes some people a bit reluctant to read what I write, besides the fact that what I write is a little strange and not very commercial. However, I can say that, as far as literature is concerned, there’s a lot more openness and variety in the English speaking world, as well as a lot more opportunities for new writers.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done, Anca. I voted for your poem this morning. To me, it is easily the best of the finalists chosen. I hope your poem wins. I always enter a poem every month, just for the pleasure of doing so. For the February competition I entered a poem about a beetle which lives in the Namib Desert in South Africa, called The Flightless Fog Drinker, hoping it would at least amuse the judges as they read through all the poems. Good luck with your poem.

    Like

    • Thank you, Philip. I just looked up your poem. I did find it whimsical and amusing, but I would say that the last line turned it on its head. I’m very glad I was selected, I wasn’t really expecting it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

