Bastet

The goddess Bastet
came to me in a dream once.
‘I heard you’ve been feeding stray cats,’
she said.
‘That’s true,’ I replied.
I always carry cat food in my bag,
along with my wallet, my phone,
my reading device,
my keys,
two lipsticks
and three lip balms –
just to be safe.
I never know which one I’ll need
and when.
I thought she would grant me a boon
and I was ready to protest –
the only cat I ever took in
had a bad temper,
so one day I put up an ad
on a cat adoption website
and gave her away –
but the goddess Bastet
just said, ‘Thanks.’

P.S.: To old and new followers – If you like the stuff posted on this blog, you can support me by downloading my ebook here or here.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

