Orange

NOTE: I wrote this poem when I was beginning to learn kanji.

 

Today I had an orange with my coffee

and I learned that three vertical lines –

the middle one slightly longer –

united at the bottom by a horizontal

make up a mountain.

And so I got the idea

to arrange the orange seeds

on the table in front of me

in shapes of constellations.

Two stick legs

make up a person

(Is that all there is to a person?)

but if you add a drop on each side

then you get fire.

Before I leave,

I’ll have to clear these stars off the table

and throw them in the bin.

But since the thought of stars in the bin

makes me sad

I’m lingering here just a little longer.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

