Caladrius

I was thinking of you
when the white bird flew in
to sit on my chest.
His eyes were your eyes
and you didn’t want me,
so I turned away.
‘Please, say “no”,’ I whispered.
And the bird said ‘yes.’
I thought about going for a walk
and washing the dishes
and feeding the cat
and writing these lines
in a world where you don’t want me.
‘Please, say “no”,’ I said.
The bird said ‘yes.’
And the bird was just a messenger,
and so he didn’t know
that you don’t want me
and when he flew away,
I did not feel any lighter.
Did you ever want me?
And what difference does it make
when the bird said ‘yes’
And that was my sentence.
His eyes were your eyes.
And this is me carrying on
in a world
where you don’t want me.

 

 

Full book available on Amazon and Smashwords.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

